The Northern Colorado
New Horizons Band (NCNHB) just one of 200 + bands of the New Horizons International Music Association (NHIMA), an organization founded 25 years ago by Roy Ernst, Ph. D., L. L.D., NHB founder and Advisor to the Board of Directors Professor Emeritus, Eastman School of Music at the University of Rochester, NY.  Roy’s philosophy back in 1991 when he decided to form a New Horizons band was that, “…anyone can learn to play music at a level that will bring a sense of accomplishment and the ability to perform in a group.”

    The New Horizons Band of Northern Colorado was formed in 1997 with 30 people. We have grown to over 60 members who are baby boomers, retirees, grandparents, veterans, novice and skilled musicians alike who enjoy making music to the best of our abilities! Our goal reflects Roy’s vision by, “…creating an entry point to group music-making for adult beginners and a comfortable re-entry point for adults who played music at school and would like to resume after long years of building careers…”

   The NCNHB draws its members from Fort Collins, Loveland, Longmont, Wellington, Windsor, Greeley, Berthoud, Mead, Eaton, and other Northern Colorado locations.

  The Band Options

   To provide different levels and types of music, the NHB of Northern Colorado has several different bands:

      For brand new beginners, there is a “green” band where directors provide more focused instruction.  Directors will also identify possible instructors for additional study, if desired.

      A “red” band (intermediate) is available for those who may need to brush up on their instrument, practice rhythms, sight read, etc.

      The concert band or “blue” band is available for musicians who wish to play in concert venues.

      Five smaller ensembles include: a Swing Band (by Director invitation only), a Dixieland band (open to all), a Woodwind Ensemble (by Director invitation only), a Hand bell Choir (open to all), and a Brass Ensemble (open to all).


   Rehearsals are held on Tuesday and Thursday mornings (9:00 -12:00) at the Good  Shepherd Church in Loveland from September until May. You are welcome to visit and watch a rehearsal session.

   You can also reach the Director, Glenn Shull by phone at 970-223-4053 or email:

Rehearsal Address:

Good Shepherd Church
3429 N. Monroe Ave.
Loveland, CO  80538


  The Board strives to keep costs as low as possible while still providing a quality experience.  We hold two semester sessions per year.  Each session includes two weekly rehearsals, at least two formal concerts and as many informal concerts and ensemble gigs as we can arrange.  The directors are available for individual instruction if needed.  Members pay a tuition each semester which covers the costs of rehearsal space, directors fees, music, supplies and other expenses.  The current tuition is $100 per semester. 


Glenn Shull 
Glenn has a Master & Bachelors of Arts degrees from the University of Northern Colorado and Associate of Arts from Colorado Mesa University.  He taught music for 35 years from elementary through the university level.  Most of those years were spent as the Band Director at Poudre High School in Fort Collins, Colorado.  In addition to teaching, twelve of those years were supervising instrumental music for the Poudre School District.
   Glenn is also the director of the Studebaker Band at the international meets and has directed church choirs for about 25 years.  He recently retired after 15 years as director of the Foothills Pops Band.  He also books his own dance bands from trios to 18 pieces.  Professionally he plays with the Dean Bushnell Orchestra (for over fifty years), the John Mills Orchestra and was the lead trombone in the Denver Broncos Band, the National Western Stock Show Band and Joel Kaye’s Neophonic (Stan Kenton style) Jazz Orchestra.  Glenn was also fortunate to play with many big bands and individual recording artists who performed in the area and used local musicians. 

     Glenn was recognized early in his teaching career as the “Outstanding Young Educator” by the Fort Collins Jaycees.  He was recognized as the “Colorado Jazz Educator of the Year” in 1993 by the Colorado chapter of the International Jazz Educators Association.  In 1997 Glenn was inducted into the “Colorado Music Educators Hall of Fame”.
     His hobbies, other than music, are restoring and showing Studebakers and garden railroading.

Kay Broughton

  Kay is Associate Director for the Northern Colorado New Horizons Band and the principle director of our Red band.  She holds a Bachelors Degree in Music Education in Clarinet from the University of Colorado, Boulder.  Kay taught a short time in the public schools in Boulder and Jefferson County.  Since moving to Loveland in 1976, she has maintained a private clarinet and saxophone studio.

    She currently plays principal clarinet in the Loveland Orchestra and Bb and Eb clarinets in the Fort Collins Wind Symphony and with the woodwind quintet, Dolcissimo.  In addition to her work with the New Horizons Band, Kay is also a choir director and traditional worship leader at the Faith Evangelical Church in Loveland, Colorado.
Kay earned rave reviews for her work during our 2013 & 2016 Northern Colorado Adult Music camps held at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, CO.


  The band is managed by a board of  volunteer officers who are elected for a one year term.  Current office holders are:
President:  Cathy Patience

Vice President:  Karen Tool 

Treasurer:  Mark Johnson

Secretary: Barbara Greenawalt

   Board Advisers

        Tom Scripture

        Linda Johnson

Band Members

                 Peg Barbour, Donna Christians,
Arline Heaton, Lorene Jimenez, Judy Lane, Jaye Reistad, Cindy Rice, Kathy Schwende, Lynnette Thayer, Johnna Wyant
                Janet Delaney, Irene Moose

Sheryl Christensen                  
Neil Johnson, Ken Levinson, Guy Mendt, Penny Oliver, Cathy Patience, Karen Richards, Mary Schaffer, Frank Schwende, Dave Simons, Ernie Teed                 
                Tom Scripture
 Dan Fahrlander 
                Barbara Greenawalt, Makka Hammock, Jim Heaton, Brad Johnston, Gloria Johnston, Cathy Kliewer
                 Ann Hansen, Dennis McKernan 
Karen Tool  
                Jim Auten, Dave Barber, John Bennett, Jim Couch, Rich Fennig, Mark Johnson, Gary Kryszak, Dennis Laabs, Rolf Monge, Skip Patience
                Mike Holland, Maggie Sager, Beth Sommers

                 Don Bright, Mike Conway, Bob Erickson, Don Haywood, Martin Limbird, Bob Wheeler
                 Lois Gotfredson, Joanne Katnik, Judy Vanderslice
                Carl Reistad, Ed Voelkel
                John Benton, Linda Johnson, Dee Kline, Barbara Shull
               Con Woodall
                Barbara Shull

                Steve Wyant